Fool Me Once - Ashley Winstead - Keeping Up With The Penguins
Buy Fool Me Once here.
(affiliate link)

Fool Me Once is the new “fierce and funny battle of the exes” from Ashley Winstead, the American academic turned novelist with a penchant for delightful romantic comedies. The wonderful team at Harper Collins Australia/HQ Fiction were kind enough to send me a copy for review.

Let’s meet the players. There’s Lee, aka Stoner, a feminist and environmentalist living in red-state Texas (of all places!), working as the director of communications for a world-first female-led electric car company (and she’s sick of comparisons to Tesla and Elon, so don’t even start). Then, there’s Ben, the new policy director responsible for a bill that could make electric vehicles standard across the government fleet. It would be a boon for Lee and her boss, but Ben and Lee share a past – and not a good one.

Sparks of all kinds are naturally going to fly when ex-lovers reunite in the workplace, especially with a separation as undignified and hurtful as the one Lee and Ben shared back when they were students. But Fool Me Once is a romance novel, so you know those sparks aren’t going away any time soon…

I found Lee to be a bit much, if I’m honest. Her savage determination to be a Cool Girl, and her incessant pathological fear of infidelity, ruined not only her own life but also any chances I had of sympathising with her. If I were her friend, I would’ve told her to wake up to herself long ago. If I were her paramour, I would’ve bailed long before Ben did. Still, that’s just my personal take; I can definitely see that she will be endearing to a lot of readers.

What will really sell Fool Me Once, I think, is the satisfying ending that promises a much brighter future than the voters of Texas are anticipating in reality. This would be the perfect rom-com for fans of Parks & Recreation, or The West Wing.

Buy Fool Me Once on Booktopia here. (affiliate link)
Read Fool Me Once on audiobook via Libro.fm here. (affiliate link)